Act as if you were a virus…

….because really, when you think about it, you are.  Well, not you in particular, but pretty much everyone in the planet.

Have you ever noticed that when someone is nice to you  that your mood lifts a bit and the chance that you’re nice to someone else in the next few seconds is a bit higher?  Notice that the opposite is true also?  (If you denied the second then I call “liar liar pants on fire!”…I’ll wait while you go get a fire extinguisher….

Back?  Okay, lets continue…

Those of you with a remote chance of winning that game show “Are You Smarter Than a 5th Grader” are pretty much getting my main point right now, but it does require some amplification (I use that word because I know it drives a friend of mine nuts when I do 😉 ).

The whole idea for this post came to me when I was in the shower, for some reason thinking of a poster I once saw (one of those motivational ones with silly sayings underneath a nice but completely irrelevant picture).  It was something to the effect of :

YOU can change the world!

Well yes, everyone has the power to change the world in a direct  and global sense, given the exact right billion to one circumstances. But,  you can change the world by going out and planting a flower (or ripping one out by its roots too), but of course I don’t think that’s what the poster meant.  And honestly, I don’t recall if there was an abundance of new flowers around where I saw the poster (or a pile of dead ones).

What I am saying is that you have to decide what effect you want to have on the world, and then act to affect your local sphere of influence.

So, if you want the world to be sunshine and rainbows, be nice to the people around you. Some of those will go on to be nice to the people around them and so on and so forth.

If you want the world to be a place where people pretty much stick to themselves and try to go about their daily lives, then Good Job! You’re mostly there!

But really, I would angle for the sunshine and rainbows thing…because you never know…if there’s ever an invasion of zombies, one of them might just remember you were nice to them at one point and not try to eat your brains.

Leave a Reply

