Holy Crap! And You Thought *I* was an Attention Whore??!!!

I was going to vote today when I heard on the news that the Westboro Baptist Church is planning on picketing Steve Jobs funeral.

Why?

Well, they say that its because Steve Jobs was a great man who did nothing to spread God’s words…but….you do see the obvious truth here don’t you?  *cough*Attention Whores*cough*.
I mean really…they’d be out doing a lot more picketing if that was their main concern.  They’re attempting to cash in on Job’s death because its getting a lot of attention…so they’re hooking their wagon to the tail of that twitter trending topic.  Its how we attention whores work.

I was going to link their website so you could have a laugh at their rhetoric, but the url makes me sad and I’m sure that they sit there watching their hit meter grow whilst typing one handed (and that, dear friends, is a euphemism).  I did find this though and there are some very funny things on here  #27 is my favorite….subtle humour :). Well, #3 is hot, and I really like #30 too.

I’m not a Christian.  I used to be, but the Holy Roman Church and I parted ways several years ago when Pope John Paul II came out and said that Roman Catholic politicians must vote with the church and not their constituents (ummm, hellooo we’re not a Theocracy!).  I was well on my way out at that time any way seeing as I have some doubts about the church’s history,  didn’t give a tinker’s damn about who you marry so long as they’re a consenting human adult and was (and still am) very pro birth control.  But that’s me.

You might have thought that was a digression, but its not.  I want you to know where I come from as I meander around this blog posting.

Religion is a fiery topic.  Wars are fought over it, friendships, and families can be torn apart by it.
But, at the same time, it can be light in the dark to guide you through hard times.  The solid belief in your heart that you are truly not alone that helps you put the pills down, or the gun, or to take the noose from around your neck and climb down off of the stool and go on to live another day. I’ve been there, and believe me there have been times in my life when living was hard. And if you’re there, or have been there…I understand. (but that’s a story for another time).

Religion can be a beautiful thing.  A thing of community, of people gathering, to share strength in song and prayer, and the companionship of the faithful.  Even when my faith was weak I can’t describe the feeling that went through me I was with a congregation that actually sang hymns instead of murmured them (my auto-correct changed that to murdered…lol, same thing I guess).

Its the little minds that corrupt religion.  Those whose faith is so weak that they see things that run counter to their beliefs as a threat, and they react as little minds often do.  They hiss and spit and arch their backs to make themselves look big.  They denigrate other religions, other sects, hell, even other congregations of the same faith in order to ensure that their ethos reigns supreme (in their own minds anyway).

I’m pretty sure the God of Abraham doesn’t want any of us mere mortals running around killing anyone in His name….yet it happens all the time.

Seriously…who gives a rat fuck what God, Goddess, Plant, Flying Spaghetti Monster your neighbour believes in?
Just respect each other as fellow occupants on this mud ball we call a home while it hurtles through space….until the comet ELENI obliterates it on Sept 26th, 2011  (oh wait, it October…ROFL)

But, that being said, I really have to wonder what God thinks of the Westboro crowd.  He might actually appreciate them as they seem to be doing a lot of judging…which, if I understand the Christian tenants really is his job.   So, I dunno, maybe he appreciates their efforts in lightening his load by running around and judging everyone on his behalf.

For those wondering…I’m a budding Buddhist.  Buddhism strikes a deep chord in me.  Here’s some reading.

Leave a Reply

