I AM HONOURED TO DO THIS! (debunk a chain email that is)

I received an email today…a chain email.  It was an innocent and heartfelt thing, and I very much appreciated the sentiment.   But,I am a skeptic and hence the chain of events that lead me to typing here.

I mean no disrespect to anyone whose forwarded these, I’m a world-class skimmer and can hardly fault anyone else for being the same 🙂

I never forward chain emails and have been known to send nasty responses down the line as some of these things are just silly (like the one where Bill Gates emails you and tells you you’ll get money for forwarding the email for helping test Microsoft’s email servers /sigh).

This one is insidious and at this time of year plays on people’s heart strings.  The email is full of images of remembrance.  Poppies, pictures of Canadian soldiers, etc. etc.

Wrapped in amongst the pictures is a diatribe about how the ACLU is suing the US Government to prohibit prayer in the US Military.

Okay…2 points.  The A in ACLU stands for American…  and well the bigger point is that its bullshit.

Here’s a link  It contains the text I mention below.

It does play on the emotions though.  I contemplated forwarding it to my address book, simply because of what the email was crafted to convey.  Remembrance and gratitude to those that serve.   But, thankfully I have a strict policy of breaking any chain mail or email that comes my way. For some reason I scrolled down and saw sloppily inserted captioning that made no sense to me.

Babbling about the ACLU…(A stands for American and this was a very Canadian email…if you went by the pictures).

It ends in a very Christian prayer “for the troops”…and mentions “Marines”  (for those of you unaware, Canada does not have Marines).

When what was contained in the email struck me, it made me mad.

I served in the Canadian Military for 17 years.  I am proud of that.  I am proud of our military.   But some festering [expletive deleted] decided that they would forward this nonsensical urban legend, cashing in on a FAKE tribute to Canada’s war dead to ensure it would be circulated!

Its an insult, plain and simple.  Not only to our dead, but those who served, and to Canadians in general.

I’m going to be sending this email to everyone whose address is on the one that was sent to me.    I suggest you do the same if you get it!

Subject:  I am honoured to do this! (Debunk an offensive chain email)

You may have received an email with pictures of poppies, Canadian soldiers, and other symbols of Remembrance.
You may or may not have read the words contained, but if you did you would see that they spoke of action the ACLU are taking to remove prayer from the US Military.

This is an urban legend.  A pure falsehood.

I am proud to do this.  To ask you to spread the word to stop this offensive chain email in its tracks.  The use of the memory of our war dead to spread a lie is insulting to our fallen, our soldiers and our nation.

Pass it on.

The email is below…Wordpress is kind of flaky with images….so its just the text…

 
 
        
LOVE  & PEACE  IN 2011
I  AM HONOURED TO DO THIS I   AM  HONOURED TO DO  THIS!!
Did   you know that the ACLU  has filed a suit to  have all  military cross-shaped headstones  removed.    
And   another suit to end  prayer from the  military completely.  They’re making  great  progress. The Navy Chaplains can  no  longer mention Jesus’ name in   prayer thanks to the  wretched ACLU and our  new administration.    


I’m   not breaking this  one.   

If   I get it a 1000 times,  I’ll forward it a  1000  times!

Let   us pray…   

Prayer   chain for our  Military… Don’t break it.  

Please   send this on after a short prayer.  Prayer  for our  soldiers Don’t break   it!
Prayer:   

‘Lord   Jesus, hold  our troops in your loving  hands Protect them  as they protect us  bless them and their families for the   selfless acts they perform  for us in our  time of need.   Amen.’
 
These  Colours Don’t Run


Prayer   Request:
  When you  receive this,  please stop for a moment and say  a prayer  for our troops around the world.
There is  nothing  attached.  Just send   this to people in your address  book.   Do not let it stop with you.  Of all  the  gifts you could give a Marine,  Soldier, Sailor, Pilots,  & others  deployed in harm’s way, prayer is the very   best one. 
GOD   BLESS YOU FOR PASSING  IT  ON!

They died for us! Can’t we at least Stand Up for them??!! 
 
 
 
 

 

Leave a Reply

