Things I learned in 2011

Well, my first post in ummm….hold on, I’m not sure what year it is, because one of the things I learned in 2011 was that I cannot do math, so I’m unsure of what number comes after 2011.

According to Elections Canada 39.6  is greater than (6.0 + 3.9 + 18.9 + 30.6 + 0.9)

So, in other words 39.6 is a bigger number than 60.4.

For those of you with no clue as to what I’m talking about…those are the percentage of votes for each party in the last Canadian Federal Election.  The Conservatives won with 39.6% of the vote.

This fact is backed up by the fact that some pundits referred to this as an “Overwhelming Mandate”.  Well, one news anchor…if the blogsite “The Torontoist” is to be believed.  I’m not linking to them because I think they’re assholes.  Why?  Because they posted some pictures some dipwad took of strippers taking a smoke break on the roof of Zanzibars (I guess the guy was afraid to try and take pictures inside the bar..because you know…he’d have gotten the crap kicked out of him).   Holy crap….1st digression of 20..er…whatever year this is!

Getting back to my point…despite the fact that majority of Canadians who voted didn’t vote for his party, Stephen Harper is our Prime Minister.  I’m not going to rant on about him…just…seriously…how does that work?   60.4 people voted for other parties…and yet….the Conservatives formed the government?

Okay…so there’s that…here’s another thing that’s confusing the issue…..

The world is supposed to end in 2012.  I accidentally watched a documentary on how the Mayans have predicted this.  Apparently the Mayan calendar ends in December of 2012.

I think that’s dead wrong…because using that logic the world actually ended in 1983.    This is according the “Harley Davidson” people.  I realized this when I was rummaging around and found an old calendar from 1983.  There was no 1984…so logic would have that the world ended (and that it began Jan 1 1983).  HEY…that means I never married my first wife…YAY!!!

Seriously, who are you going to believe more, people who build awesome motorcycles, or a people who developed science and math and neat pyramids of stone?

I don’t know what the new year will hold.  The world could end tomorrow, or life could change dramatically what with solar activity on the rise, and idiots out there shopping for nuclear material and bio weapons.

I think its important to just live life.

Most of you who know me know that I’ve been seeing a therapist for just over a year, so I will share one thing I actually did learn this year.

During one of our sessions during the summer she asked me if I understood the concept of “Surrender”.   Not being a big fan of surrendering I frowned at her in confusion.  She grinned and talked about “Surrendering to the Now”.   To break it down… its important to live in the ‘Now’.    What has happened in the past does not matter right now,  nor what will happen in the future, be it in 5 minutes, 5 days, 5 years and so on.

That isn’t to say that you just live in obliviousness, never having learned from events in your past, or without regard for consequences, but that you don’t let those factors paralyze you.
Let me put it this way…. lets say that you find that you’ve locked yourself out of your house.  Its okay to be upset that you’ve done this, but your focus should be on getting into your house.  If you start getting worked up over what might result of you not being able to get into your house right now, or what happened last time (or what might’ve happened), it might affect your ability to resolve the situation, but it absolutely will affect your mood, your chi, kharma, energy…whatever you want to call it.

Another way to put this is that you may have made mistakes in the past, while its important to learn from them, its equally important to not dwell on them beyond that moving forward in life.

Its not an easy thing to do, and sometimes I slip.

So, this new year finds me a different person than I was 12 months ago (you know on January 1 1983).   My therapist, Roberta has played a large part  in that.

Here’s wishing you a happy and prosperous 2012!  (I’m logged into World of Warcraft…my guildies have all verified that 2012 is the actualy year).  I’ve also checked my computer clock (and my computer would NEVER lie to me!).

Leave a Reply

